I AM a Runner


I am many things, but I wasn’t always a runner.


Summers in Louisiana are sweltering. I took my first steps in the 90 degree heat one summer, thanks to my mother.  The 90 degree weather pushed into the early 100s as I learned to drop my arms and lengthen my stride. Although I quit about a month later, Coach Ulysses Frontha’s efforts were not in vain.

In middle school my love for running around and around a track was rekindled when I realized I was decent for a 12-year-old.  I continued running through high school and through college.

After I started my first “big girl” job, I finally had money to spend and began “accidentally” registering for races. Racing once a week soon turned to back-to-back racing.

I soon realized I was hooked. But more importantly, I was officially a runner!

One thought on “I AM a Runner

Leave a comment